Toxicity is Real

Hey, guys.

So I’ve been seeing this hot new trend in our mainstream society.

The ability to cut the toxic influences out of your life.

As a fairly new adult, this has been one of the things I’ve learned to do quite well.

As a teenager, you kind of had no control over who you could or couldn’t cut from your life.

I mean, if I went to school and my toxic ex-best friend was in my fourth-period economics class… it would be pretty damn hard to cut her out COMPLETELY.

But, as an adult, I feel like that’s one of the few things that we can take control of.

Sure the economy of the entire world is going to shit and we’re all broke and painting a false sense of happiness all around us… but sure, cutting toxic people from your life is the only thing that can really make you feel like you have a grasp on things.

I’m all for this trend of self-help. I say go for it.

But as I said to a friend just recently in regards to making yourself happy, there are some things in life you just can’t cut out.

Whether it be people or a job or what have you, some things aren’t meant to be cut away when the going gets tough.

Make yourself happy, sure. Without a doubt.

But sometimes the only way you can be happy is to actually fix some things in your life, before throwing them away.

Because once it’s gone, sometimes it’s gone for good.

And you’ll be more miserable than before because you didn’t put in every last effort to fix it.

I don’t know if any of that made any sense, but. My point is this:

Learn how to make yourself happy, but don’t do it to the point of isolation or loneliness.

Because if you cut too much from your life, all that will be left is you. And that gets pretty quiet after a while. -Dee

Leave a Reply

